

## Professor John F. Hartwig Is the Winner of the 2013 "ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science"

n Monday, September 9, 2013, Prof. John F. Hartwig of the University of California Berkeley delivered the 2013 ACS Catalysis Lectureship entitled "Discovery and Development of New Catalytic Tranformations," at the 246th ACS National Meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana, before a standingroom only audience. Prof. Hartwig's lecture capped a day-long program consisting of 13 other speakers (Figure 1) who preceded Prof. Hartwig.

Prof. Hartwig delivered a clear and exciting lecture in his typical pedagogical style, with a strong emphasis on catalytic borylation chemistry. His presentation covered his group's first observations of stoichiometric arene<sup>1</sup> and alkane<sup>2</sup> borylation reactions as well as their development of iridium-catalyzed<sup>3</sup> arene borylation processes. At the end of the lecture, Prof. Hartwig also described his recent innovative work on iridium-catalyzed directed silyation reactions of aliphatic C–H bonds.<sup>4</sup>

The call for the 2014 ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science was recently released. This award will recognize specific, significant contributions to catalysis science by an individual or a team of researchers. While the candidate's or team's career contributions to catalysis may be considered in choosing a winner, the most significant emphasis will be placed on the impact of the contributions to catalysis published since 2007. Thus, nomination materials should emphasize the candidate's or team's most significant contributions in the last 7 years. If there are multiple submissions of similar merit, nominees who have not been previously recognized for the work associated with the nomination will be given priority. At least one letter of support from a member of the ACS Division of Catalysis Science and Technology is required for each nomination.

The Lectureship will be presented in a session celebrating the award winner, sponsored by the ACS Division of Catalysis Science and Technology, at the 248th ACS National Meeting in San Francisco, CA, from August 10–14, 2014. The Lectureship honoree will receive \$3000 plus costs associated with travel to the conference.

Christopher W. Jones, Editor-in-Chief Georgia Institute of Technology

## AUTHOR INFORMATION

## Notes

Views expressed in this editorial are those of the author and not necessarily the views of the ACS.

The author declares no competing financial interest.

## REFERENCES

- (1) Waltz, K. M.; He, X. M.; Muhoro, C.; Hartwig, J. M. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1995, 117, 11357–11358.
- (2) Waltz, K. M.; Hartwig, J. M. Science 1997, 227, 211-213.
- (3) Ishiyama, T.; Takagi, J.; Ishida, K.; Miyaura, N.; Anastasi, N. R.; Hartwig, J. F. *J. Am. Chem. Soc.* **2002**, *134*, 390–391.
- (4) Simmons, E. M.; Hartwig, J. F. Nature 2012, 483, 70-73.
- (5) http://pubs.acs.org/page/accacs/nominations.html.



Figure 1. Speakers in the Division of Catalysis Science and Technology session honoring Prof. John F. Hartwig at the 246th ACS National Meeting, from left to right, front: Karen Goldberg (Washington), Yaorong Zheng (Lippard group, MIT), Janis Louie (Utah), Vy Dong (UC Irvine), Alan Goldman (Rutgers U), Robert Bergman (UC Berkeley); rear: Pinjing Zhao (North Dakota State), Erik Alexanian (UNC Chapel Hill), Patrick Walsh (Penn), John F. Hartwig (UC Berkeley), Kevin Shaughnessy (Alabama), Tom Rauchfuss (Illinois). Not pictured: Daniel Weix (Rochester), T. Don Tilley (UC Berkeley).